Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Won't Start. Why come?
Howdy,

I'm in the process of installing the Poor Boy conversion. I'm not a mechanic, and I have other priorities, so this will take a while for me.
I'm breaking the project down into small, doable segments. I'd replace the timing belts and now I want to start it to make sure I did that correctly before I move on.
My plan was to start the bike and make sure it ran as well as it did when I started this project.

During the dismantle I realized that putting it back together again would require as much access room as possible. The upper radiator hose in particular looks like it might be a bear.
So I took the upper fairing off, even though that wasn't part of the instructions. Also, I took the battery out and hooked it up to the maintenance charge. This must have been a mistake, #-O
as now the battery is dead in one cell. The battery was only a year old too! OK, so I jumped the bike with the battery in the truck.
Turns over OK, but there isn't even the slightest sign that it wants to fire. I pulled a plug to check, and it's gettin gas, so that's not it.
The bike has been sitting for about 3 months without running, though before I tore it apart it ran smooth as a well balanced top. :x

Question. If I have a timing belt that's off maybe one tooth, it would still try to fire wouldn't it?
Question. Does the upper fairing have to have the wiring hooked up to complete the system for the bike to run?
Question. Any other ideas or suggestions?

I'm thinkin, I probly should have just saved up my pennies and paid a mechanic to do this. Which is exactly why I took it down the way it is so that it's much more difficult for me to do that.
I know that I'm a semi-smart person with some problem solving skills and I know there are people out there that can't help.
Which means like always, I just gotta ask questions and get it done! @-)

Thanks in advance. :YMPEACE:
1985 GL1200a
Live to ride,
Ride to live!