Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Up-shifting - Foot peg & Gearshift Pedal
Another "newbie" type question. I noticed that when I try to shift gears, my foot seems at an awkward angle in order to "upshift". I am currently wearing a running shoe but want to switch over to more protection. I bought a pair of Icon leather boots and now the angle seems more intense.

I noticed that the "foot peg" seems to be adjustable. The question "Is it?" If so then I should be able to drop it down abit so that the angle is not as steep.

Yes? Any suggestions.
#1 04-27-2010, 10:23 AM,
I wear size 14 3E boots :lol: and can shift without much trouble. But when I was a newbie, I did have to get used to it. As I recall -- aside from adjusting the best angle for the foot peg to fit you -- between the engine and crash bar there isn't much wiggle room. I tend to sit a bit forward in the seat to get the best angle of attack for upshifting.

One thing is for sure, I wouldn't wear running shoes on my bike. A couple of times in the beginning before I got used to managing my '85 Interstate, it keeled over on me (I just did a couple of dumb things like not having my feet in position on the ground in time when I came to a stop). Once the bike caught my foot under the crash bar with maybe 300 to 400 lbs of force. Without those boots, no doubt my foot would have been squashed. But the heavy sole and tough leather upper of my boots prevent serious damage to my foot -- I'm sure of it. Also, if you touch a hot exhaust pipe with your bare ankle sticking out of a running shoe, you'll smell grilled ankle. I have a couple of ankle burns on my boots -- and didn't feel a thing.

After trying dozens of them, I've found the BEST riding boots (I own THREE pairs of them)to be the low cut, zippered
Skechers Men's Cinder Twist Motorcycle Boots

[Image: skech164827_41823_lg.jpg]