Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Fuel Injection Computer Boards
Hi EveryBody,

I own a 1985 GL1200 Interstate so fuel injection is not a problem for me. I was just looking to see if it was practical to modify my GL1200I have the FI from the LTD since they are flavors of the same base bike. One post talked about changing the FI back to carbs and a response to that post outlined all the differences that had to be accounted for to make the change. Sounded pretty daunting though ... I think I'll keep the carbs for a while longer. If I lived up north where my cycle was imprisoned during the winter months I might entertain such a project, but I live in Florida and get the itch to ride way too much to do without.

Long story short: I'm an Electronics Engineer ... in fact my specialty is embedded micro-controller design ( thats the technical term for what you call the fuel injection computer). It seems that everybody is worried about a source for these computers and the price. If somebody has a blown FI computer I would be willing to look at it to see if it was practical to reverse engineer it. I'll need a unit that I can remove the parts from in order to follow the copper traces to create a schematic (unless somebody has an accurate schematic handy). I would have to create and have fabricated a new printed circuit board, upgrade the electronics design to add a micro-controller (computer) to something that has been and will be around for sometime ... like and ARM7 Thumb processor, create the embedded software for the processor that replicates the existing code in functionality and finally secure a knowledgeable (victim) test subject who owns or has access too a LTD. I say knowledgeable because their evaluation of how the new board works would be invaluable as we tweaked the code to create the fuel injection responses required. Somebody who understands air / fuel mixtures at a variety of temperatures, loads, and elevations and how to take accurate measurements of sam