GL1200 GOLDWINGS
CLOCK, KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THEM??? - Printable Version

+- GL1200 GOLDWINGS (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200)
+-- Forum: TECH CENTER (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+--- Forum: LIGHTING AND ELECTRICAL (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: CLOCK, KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THEM??? (/showthread.php?tid=569)

Pages: 1 2


CLOCK, KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THEM??? - admin - 05-02-2007

Hello, I've got my dash all apart and my clock out of my bike because the clock just wasn't working. Long before it quit it wasn't holding the time and it would flash as if prompting to have the time reset. I would reset the time and soon enough it would go back to flashing.

Could be a bad clock or could be a bad connection deeper into the dash.

What I would like to know is does anyone know what the voltage is supposed to be and where at the connectors on the clock. I would like to try the clock while it's out of the bike but I don't want to feed it 12 volts just in case.

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

P.S. If I can't sort it out I guess now would be a good time to convert to a voltmeter and get a sundial for the top of the dash.


- admin - 05-02-2007

OK, I fed 12 volts to the red and purple male wire connectors and the clock started working so now it must be the fuse that's bad I hope.

Now I'm off to find the fuse for the clock. Does anyone know where it is?


- silverfoxwing - 05-02-2007

Vic;

With the ignition switch in ON, ACC, or P, voltage is applied to the clock. The clock lights up and displays the time. Battery voltage for the clock memory is applied at all times throught the 3 amp in-line fuse located under the left fairing pocket.

Howard Idea


- admin - 05-02-2007

Thanks Howard. I'll be off to check that in a little while.


- Guest - 05-02-2007

Sense you got that clock out. Could you tell me if its possible to replace the clear plastic that covers the display? My clock works great but the clear plastic is chipped and it makes it hard to read. I thought I would just glue a new flat piece of clear plastic over it after I got the old one off. I did notice that the OEM plastic is raised so that it fits flush with the outside of the hole it sits in.

Can this be done or not?


- admin - 05-02-2007

Why not just look around for a used lens to replace the one on your dash. It would be difficult, though not impossible to fabricate one yourself.


- Guest - 05-02-2007

So your saying its a lens on the dash and not part of the clock?


- admin - 05-02-2007

silverfoxwing Wrote:Vic;

With the ignition switch in ON, ACC, or P, voltage is applied to the clock. The clock lights up and displays the time. Battery voltage for the clock memory is applied at all times throught the 3 amp in-line fuse located under the left fairing pocket.

Howard Idea

***********************************************************

I searched everywhere in there Howard and there was no 3 amp fuse to be found. There was a 7.5 amp and a 20 amp ATO but no inline. I'll check again tomorrow just incase I missed it.


- admin - 05-02-2007

longhaireddwb Wrote:So your saying its a lens on the dash and not part of the clock?

I must have misunderstood. You mean just the lens on the clock?

If yes, you can sand that lens with 2000 grit wet sandpaper and polish it to make it look like new again.


- SIR tricky - 05-03-2007

Looking at the schematic both fuses provide power to the clock.

........84 Asp 7amp red wire 20 amp Light green\black

after 84 Asp 7.5 amp red wire 20 amp light green\black

Why the difference in the amperage I don't know maybe a misprint.


The red wire I think is the memory as it can be traced directly to the main 30 amp fuse.
the LG\Bl traces back to the (ignition switch, which also) provides power to the number 3 fuse (accessory screw)


- admin - 05-03-2007

Thanks Tricky, those fuses check out so I guess I have 2 dead clocks. I gues its time to convert to a voltmeter and stop worrying about the time. :lol:


- silverfoxwing - 05-03-2007

Vic;

My info is for an 86 model year, sorry about that.

Did you try to run the clock off an outside 12 volt source to see if it maintains its memory?

You may still have an electrical issue.

Because you used school bus yellow, did you have to install the rest of the features required for a bus. LOL :lol:

Howard


- admin - 05-03-2007

Do you mean like a bus terminal or something like that? Could be. :lol:


- silverfoxwing - 05-03-2007

Vic;

Spoke to a fine gentleman in Port Dover today. He has an 1800, same colour as yours. I remarked about how it stood out, took offence at first till I said it makes him highly visible to the cage drivers.

And no; he did not have any accessories that come with the colour either. :lol:

Howard


- admin - 05-03-2007

I used to be a bit touchy about the color of my Wing but when I look back and guesstimate at how many times that color has saved my life I just smile and when I think of how happy my wife was that I painted it her color well that was worth at least a million dollars. So, all in all it has proven to be a great color for me even though it wasn't my choice.

Long live Harvest Gold otherwise known as school bus yellow.