GL1200 GOLDWINGS
LED LIGHTS - Printable Version

+- GL1200 GOLDWINGS (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200)
+-- Forum: TECH CENTER (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+--- Forum: LIGHTING AND ELECTRICAL (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: LED LIGHTS (/showthread.php?tid=1714)

Pages: 1 2


LED LIGHTS - sailorchuck - 11-27-2007

Has anyone had any trouble with the new Led lights from Jim,or is it just me???? When I but the new bulbs in and turn them to the lock position they well not work. If I just hold them and and not turn them it well work.It is like the base is not right. My lights are all stock and have not been changed. Thanks Chuck


lights - redwing1984 - 11-28-2007

Have you talked to jim about this, let me know the results because I ordered a whole set to change all my lights to LED's


- Guest - 11-28-2007

Guys, Dont worry.

If something is wrong, I will make it right.
I talked to Chuck this evening about the problem he is having trying to remedy the problem.

In most cases like these it is a ground problem, the LEDs draw so little power the ground and power contacts have to be near perfect.

I have them in my 85 Aspy and they work better than perfect.

Jim


LED's - redwing1984 - 11-29-2007

Jim, Would a bit of electrical contact grease help make a better contact and ensure their is no oxidization.


- Guest - 11-29-2007

I am not sure :?:


led's - redwing1984 - 11-29-2007

I'll try it in the spring when I install the lights, and if it doesn't work i'll clean the contacts with some electrical contact cleaner,
how are you progressing with the trunk signal lights, I remember you have quite a busy schedual.
Mark


- fly5465 - 12-01-2007

Hey Jim,
I want to confirm how many bulbs I will need to replace all the Tail/Brake lights on my stock 1200. It looks like I have 4 bulbs back there, but on your web site I thought I read it needs 2? Do you know for sure? :?


led's - redwing1984 - 12-01-2007

Fly: I think you need four one in each saddle bag and two in the trunk.


- Guest - 12-01-2007

All I have ever seen needs 4, but I understand some of the interstates only have 2.

Jim


Re: led's - fly5465 - 12-02-2007

redwing1984 Wrote:Fly: I think you need four one in each saddle bag and two in the trunk.

Thanks, I dont know why I didn't just go look at the bike??? :oops: I guess that option just slipped my mind.

I do infact need 4.


- fly5465 - 01-01-2008

Hey Chuck,
Did you ever find the problem with the LED brake/tail bulbs on your bike that you got from Jim? I recently received 2 LED's from Jim for my bike to try. I finally got around to putting them in and found I'm having the same type of problem that you described. I tried putting the 2 LED's in my trunk but now the standard bulbs in my bags are on bright all the time and the LED's go out the first time I pulled the break lever?

Anyway, they are acting really strange, just wondering what you found. I have not talked to Jim yet, but will soon.

Thanks, Dale


LED ,s - sailorchuck - 01-01-2008

Hello------NO I did not find out how to make my lights work. I tried to run them whith dieect wires,three each to each bulb to by bass the bulb holder and they still will not work. Went back to stock and the old way the old bulbs worked fine. Good luck Chuck


- Guest - 01-01-2008

All of the 1200s that have 4 bulbs are working fine.
I just cant understand what could be causing the problem with this bike that only has 2 tail lights.

If you use 2 LEDs and 2 filiment bulbs in a 4 taillight system they will not work properly.

I will continue to study this problem.

also does anyone elses gl 1200 only have 2 tail lights?

Jim


- fly5465 - 01-02-2008

rvtechA1 Wrote:All of the 1200s that have 4 bulbs are working fine.
I just cant understand what could be causing the problem with this bike that only has 2 tail lights.

If you use 2 LEDs and 2 filiment bulbs in a 4 taillight system they will not work properly.

I will continue to study this problem.

also does anyone elses gl 1200 only have 2 tail lights?

Jim

Thanks for the info Jim. I have a 4 tail lights, but tried with 2 LED's and 2 filiment bulbs. I wanted to see if I like the output of the 2 LED's before I invested in 4 of them. So, I need to buy 2 more to make them work properly?

My bike also has 2 added lights that are just single filiment bulbs for additional tail lights. (See attached photo for small lights under bags).

Will I have to replace these additional lights with LED's as well?

[Image: IMG_0994-s.JPG]


- Guest - 01-02-2008

You will like the light output and the super rich color, there is no doubt about that, I guarantee it--- 100%

The best route to go is to use 4 like LED or SMDs in all 4 of the factory taillight positions, 2 in the trunk and 1 in each saddlebag.

No need to replace the aftermarket taillight bulbs yet, but I have a strong feeling that you will replace every light on that wing with our LEDs when you see our taillights in action...